top of page


Saturday, March 9, 2024, 7 P.M.

Buckley Recital Hall, Arms Music Center, Amherst College

The Amherst Symphony Orchestra opens the Spring season with two masterworks bridging the Classical and Romantic eras. The phenomenal Zhihan Xu ‘24 performs Beethoven’s Violin Concerto in D Major (1806), an uplifting showcase of virtuosity and lyricism. In the second half of the concert, the concerto’s playfulness gives way to more serious matters. The ASO collaborates with Amherst’s Choral Society to perform the Requiem in D Minor (1791): a harrowing message from Mozart’s grave. The composer died halfway through composing the work, and the anguish and gravitas of his final musical words are truly unparalleled.


Ludwig van Beethoven: Violin Concerto in D Major, Op. 61

(Zhihan Xu '24, soloist)

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Requiem in D Minor, K. 626

(performed with Amherst College Choral Society) 

bottom of page